Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8)

 

Waiting List Application
(CLOSED)

Lottery Results
(April 2022)

UPDATED INFORMATION FOR THE HOUSING CHOICE VOUCHER PROGRAM

Chattanooga Housing Authority will continue to do what we can to limit risks for our employees, program participants and owners/property managers related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The Chattanooga Housing Authority will continue to actively and effectively manage the Housing Choice Voucher Program in response to COVID-19, with three key objectives in mind:

1.     Keeping our employees and their families safe.

2.     Ensuring our program is fully operational to serve clients.

3.     Doing our part as a corporate citizen to contain the spread of the virus.

To promote a healthy work environment and do our part to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, we are continuing to emphasize CDC guidelines for personal prevention techniques.   Recommendations can be found at the CDC (www.cdc.gov).

Beginning Monday, February 14th, 2022, the Chattanooga Housing Authority’s office located at 801 N Holtzclaw Avenue will now be open to the public.  We are continuing to process paperwork and do as much program business as possible remotely and we encourage everyone to use remote access whenever possible.  However, in the event that it is not possible, our offices are open for assistance. 

Keep in mind that any paperwork can be faxed, emailed or mailed to our offices during this time and we have a drop slot at the front door of the office located at 801 N Holtzclaw Avenue.  You can access any of our forms on our website at www.chahousing.org.  We have made these forms fillable online as well so you will be able to save them and email to the appropriate person.  All of our contact information (fax and email) are listed below.  Please make sure you send all required forms and supporting documentation as well to prevent a delay in processing. 

INSPECTIONS: 

We have been performing some inspections in-person but beginning March 1, 2022, we will perform ALL annual recertification inspections, re-inspections and complaint inspections in-person. 

If you have a property in abatement and repairs are now made, you can email reinspections@chahousing.org as always to request the re-inspection.  If the unit passes inspection on the first try, we will make that pass date retroactive to the date you notified us that repairs were made. 

For initial inspections for new move ins, we will continue to utilize the “Self-certification of HQS Conditions” form in lieu of the in-person inspection.  We will begin in-person initial inspections effective 5/1/2022.  This means that the lease agreement cannot be dated prior to the DAY AFTER the passed inspection.  HUD gives the CHA up to 2 weeks once the RFTA is approved to inspect the units although we will try to take less time to complete the task. 

 

We will continue to monitor this situation closely and are committed to ensuring our core operations and our program remains fully operational and ready to serve you.    

Thank you again for your participation in our program. We appreciate your trust in us and look forward to continuing to serve you.

Below is the contact information for email and fax numbers for all HCVP staff.  If you are unsure who to send the information to you, can call the main number listed below for the Customer Service Representative: 

  

Housing Choice Voucher Program contact information

Program Director:  Tammie Carpenter; tcarpenter@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4833

Assistant Program Director:  Michelle Brown; mbrown@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4814

Field Services (Inspections) Manager:  Glenn Ford; gford@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4816

Re-inspections:  resinpections@chahousing.org

Office Manager:  Roz Spence; rspence@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4395

 

Customer Service Representative:  Main number: (423) 752-4866

 

Receptionist/Customer Service: 

Tawana Hinton; thinton@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4866

 

Housing Specialist & Customer Service:

Portability Specialist:  Teresa Cottom; tcottom@chahousing.org: fax (423) 752-4398

Waiting List Specialist:  Chris Whitaker; cwhitaker@chahousing.org; fax (423) 551-6352

Rent Increase Specialist:  Linda Smarekar; lsmarekar@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4172

Relocation Specialist:  Brandee Hammons; bhammons@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4170

Special Programs Intake Specialist:  Johnetta Langston; jlangston@chahousing.org; fax (423) 531-7176

Leasing Specialist (RFTA intake):  Robin Hammonds Jackson; rhammonds@chahousing.org; fax (423) 553-7543

 

Records:

Scanning & Clerical support; Sylvia Horne; shorne@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4829

Scanning & Clerical support; Tina Payne; tpayne@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4998

 

Inspectors: 

Todd Lowery; tlowery@chahousing.org; fax (423) 668-2693

Crystal Blanks; cblanks@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4475

Randy Stargin; rstargin@chahousing.org; fax (423) 558-0198

Darren Bowles; dbowles@chahousing.org; fax (423) 954-7622

Bruce Brooks; bbrooks@chahousing.org; fax (423) 668-2693

 

Program Compliance:

Interim Certification Specialist:  Sarah Grace Pennington; spennington@chahousing.org; fax (423) 443-3023

Annual Re-certification Verification Specialist:  Jennifer Zendejas; jzendejas@chahousing.org; fax (423) 682-6658

Annual Re-certification Data Entry Specialist:  Liliya Shevchuk; lshevchuk@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4162

 

Special Programs:

Family Unification Program (FUP) Liaison:  Anita Jackson; anitajackson@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4881

Emergency Housing Voucher (EHV) Coordinator:  Taylor Flores; tflores@chahousing.org; fax (423) 682-6702

Family Self Sufficiency/Homeownership Coordinator:  Theresa Biggs; tbiggs@chahousing.org; fax (423) 752-4996

Project Based Voucher Program Briefing

Pay outstanding HCVP Balances

HCVP Current and Prospective Landlord/Owner Open Meetings
 

March 24th @ 6:00 pm

April 28th @ 6:00 pm

May 26th @ 6:00 pm

June 23rd @ 6:00 pm

July 28th @ 6:00 pm

August 25th @ 6:00 pm

September 22nd @ 6:00 pm

October 27th @ 6:00 pm

November 17th @ 6:00 pm

December 15th @ 6:00 pm

For HAP Payment Inquiry and

Information Click Here

For Landlord and Participant Documents Click Here

COVID-19 INFORMATION FOR THE HOUSING CHOICE VOUCHER PROGRAM

faq-icon.png
2000px-Information_icon.svg.png
Program Info
 

The Housing Choice Voucher program is a federal government program for assisting low-income families, the elderly and the disabled to afford decent, safe, and sanitary housing in the private market. Since housing assistance is provided on behalf of the family or individual, participants are able to find their own housing, including single-family homes, townhouses and apartments.


The participant is free to choose any housing that meets the requirements of the program and is not limited to units located in subsidized housing projects.


The Chattanooga Housing Authority receives federal funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to administer the Housing Choice Voucher Program.


A housing subsidy is paid to the landlord directly by the Chattanooga Housing Authority on behalf of the participating family. The family then pays the difference between the actual rent charged by the landlord and the amount subsidized by the program. The family is required to pay at least 30% of its monthly adjusted gross income for rent and utilities.


To apply for the Housing Choice Voucher program you must complete an application obtained from the Chattanooga Housing Authority when the waiting list is open.


The Chattanooga Housing Authority HCV Program currently administers 3,603 vouchers with approximately 1,200 landlords.

 

 

Waiting List Status: CLOSED

Below is the 2022 schedule of when your funds should be available in your direct deposit account:  (keep in mind that the deposit to the USBank prepaid card will be available on the card 1 day later than direct deposit):

 

March 16th

April 4th

April 18th

May 3rd

May 17th

June 2nd

June 16th

July 4th

July 18th

August 2nd

August 16th

September 2nd

September 16th

October 4th

October 17th

November 2nd

November 16th

December 2nd

December 16th

 

 

These are different each month b/c the 1st does not always fall on a week day and if/when it does, the 2nd business day may be on a weekend or holiday.  We are able to post all payments on the 1st business day of the month and the payments are in your account on the 2nd business day of the month.  What dates those actually are varies from month to month.  I hope this schedule will be helpful so you can plan for those payments and payment dates.

Currently Available HCVP/Section 8 Property Listing